Kenyadian

The misfit adventures of a Canadian in Kenya

March 24, 2018 - Body, Mind & Spirit, part 2

The Mind

There have been some embarrassing language moments:  

  • Kumi is ten and Kuma is vagina  - I wonder how many years of therapy the little boy who was helping me count will need?
  • Kunywa is to drink and Knuwa is to shit – there are many servers all over Kenya that think I want to shit water or beer.

The moons are spectacular, just unbelievably spectacular at keeping me up at nights.  Please let the next full moon come in peace.

You know when you travel to the US you have to relearn imperial measurement (km vs miles, kilo vs pound etc) well here, I have had to relearn time.  I thought about this long and hard, and have come to the conclusion that the Kenyan version of time is so much better.  You see, time measurement is all the same, for example if I say, "I'll see you Tuesday"  or "I'll be there in an hour", it all means the same thing:  WHENEVER.  I could be there in an hour, next Tuesday or WHENEVER.  The best part about this is everyone does it and no one is bothered by it.   

I'm just now starting to understand and appreciate the concept of what it takes to be an ambassador of change.  Have had the opportunity to meet (when the time is right) and speak (without mentioning my vagina once) with some pretty amazing people and groups, who are just that; ambassadors of change.  It is very humbling to hear about:

  • the octogenarian who works every day making reusable sanitary pads so young women can stay in school, 
  • or the 20 something young man who volunteers his time to teach children the importance of inclusion, equality, leadership, conservation, sexual health .... through sport, 
  • or the women of the village learning how to shear sheep and spin, dye & weave wool so they can start an enterprise that allows them to pay school fees for their children,
  • or the father of 5 who works full time, but spends his free time working towards his dream of building an environmental conservation learning center,
  • or the village members who dig a new path/road where they walk to fetch water, while they wait their turn to fetch water.

It's really eye opening what some people will do to make a change, my hat is off to them.  Wait I had better put that back on, it can be pretty hot here.

Next stop - The Spirit.  

Thanks for listening and I'll see you tomorrow (or whenever).